top of page

From "Untitled" to "Old Wound-New Wound"

One of the things I look for when taking photographs is color. Color in nature along with shape, are two main ways nature communicates with us visually. Through color you can get a sense of time and events, as color is reactive to a lot of things that happen around us.

This picture I took, I originally thought to leave it as an untitled photograph. One night I was staring at it thinking of colors in this way. As you can tell this tree has been cut into by man in two different places, and you can also tell one cut was made more recently than the other.

Through its color we can see the effects of time and the events that happen around it, such as rain, sunshine, bugs, humans, etc. You can also appreciate clear differences in the color where man cut into it and the other areas of the tree, given us completely different patterns of color, shape and texture.

With this in mind, I have decided to title this one "Old Wound-New Wound" instead. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Thanks for reading,

Andres Gonzalez

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page