top of page

Should this be hanged?


If a piece of mine questions the viewer, whether one of my photos is art or not, or whether it should be hanged as art or not, then in my eyes, the piece is a success.


The scenes that usually lure me in are not glamorous by any means, nor elegant or dashing. The objects within these scenes are usually cast off as unimportant, unkempt and/or neglected. It is of no surprise that the inclusion of these in an artistic image can be met with caution, if not outright disdain.


The question I ask with my work, in broad terms is "What else can things be?"


But instead of presenting this question, in the form of converting a beautiful scene into a beautiful image, a question I think that has been answered many times over, I try to find subjects who haven't answered this question, or at least not as much or in as many ways that a flower has. I try to push this as much as I can in the hopes of confronting automatic stereotyping with the hidden relationships that judgement bypasses or ignores.


Whether people arrive at similar conclusions as I, feels irrelevant. If there was a mental struggle prior, now that is interesting.


Andres Gonzalez



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page