top of page

Finding Meyerowitz in 2021



I didn't actually just find out about Joel Meyerowitz and his work, but my good friend and fellow photographer Johnny Kerr recently shared an interview with him in Lens Culture Magazine.


It was interesting listening to this interview of Joel Meyerowitz (linked above). Having not been exposed to famous photographers much before I dived into photography a few years ago, it was refreshing to hear experiences, reflections, "aha" moments, I had tried to pen down in posts before, articulated in such a way. My initial reaction I must confess was pleased with myself. Not doing so bad if Mr. M. just echoed a lot of things you have been chewing on for a while. However, upon deeper contemplation of this, if I’m honest with myself, a lot of things were things I articulated rather simply, at least in comparison.


Alas the benefit of knowing the masters. The way it was articulated, and pieced together with other themes I too had chewed on (but separately), was like wiping fog off my glasses. Nice reminder that just because it makes the ego feel good, it isn’t necessarily a good thing (external validation). As his words still swim in my consciousness, I start mapping out new relationships, new understandings. I grow.


For example, I further understand the value of experience. This notion had already been born in my psyche, applied to my own growth, and in his graceful rendition of the notion, he showed me how other people’s growth, can lead to growth in me as well.


In previous musings about intuitive photography, I had understood the value of openness and flexibility, in order to follow pangs of gut feelings, like a detective chasing an image. I had understood that to me, the study of the artistic process, is the study of oneself, in order to successfully navigate our own selves through this process, and make it out the other end with something on our hands (figuratively speaking).


As he talks about, going out into this fluid reality, our camera and therefore our intention of taking a picture, however vague a notion, slows down the rolling tape of reality, and makes us more present to its nuances. Smells, sounds, colors, shapes and motions will at times activate or stimulate something within ourselves. Trusting this, overtime, will reveal us to ourselves. As such Photography (and art in general) in way is the study of oneself. Of the things that can stimulate our insides, of the things that block them and how we walk this line. It is a very personal experience, and through this experience, we can arrive at images that are our own, and no one else’s. Searching for and coming back to this experience, will further reveal our genius. We grow, and we grow inwards.


It is curious this came to me at the start of the New Year, during the customary phase of the famous New Year’s resolutions. Mixed emotions, ones condemning the annual habit and at the same time finding myself lingering on questions: where have I been, where am I and where I’m going. The notion of growth emerging against this backdrop.


This interview was a nice push in several directions.


Happy New Year


Andres Gonzalez


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page