top of page

Thinking of coming back to blog

The judgments you’re able to break in your eye, renew your surroundings with possibility.

This is a truth about my work I got reminded of during the last walkabout of 2019. I'll write more about the outing itself on a separate post, but finding this statement today, made me realize how important was it for me to muse over in blog format about photography in general and my work specifically.

Working art is in itself so simple and complex at the same time, someone like me relies on afterthought to sort it out, and sort it out to some degree as the source of it all seems to be beyond our fingertips, and we should keep it intentionally so, as I think art thrives on the edge of what is and what isn't.

Anyways, one of the insights I had discovered while I was still blogging, was that we should try to question what our eye views as relevant and worthy of our attention, as it doesn't always has aesthetics in mind when it does. Our eye discards so much from our perception for practical purposes, as its impossible for us to be aware of everything, but it does so from a survival and cultural framework, what is relevant for our safety, and what is relevant to society.

I have often walked by something that makes me stop to take a closer look at it, then realize its trash or something like that, and almost automatically be on my way. I need to try and stop myself from moving on from these scenes when I catch myself doing it, as I've often found that if we bypass our automatic perceptual behavior, and challenge whether in fact that piece of trash is irrelevant or not, we can find hidden visual treasures. If we take a look at what we deem as irrelevant, we can find beauty in odd places.

A picture from the last shoot of the year inspired these musings again and got me thinking of blogging again. Not sure whether I want to follow a single format and/or consistent frequency but I wanted it to get something out for the time being.

This picture comes from a type of scene I have bypassed in the past, as its amidst a lot of litter, because apparently I have an assumption that concentrated litter doesn't make for a good picture (I usually frequent scenes where I can isolate elements or find an organizing way of displaying them).

On this occasion I decided against my automatic reaction and challenged myself to take the picture, ignoring the assumption and focusing on what I found interesting enough to lure me in, which was a playful notion stemming from how the garments where arranged and its colors.

Although I chose a different title originally based on a very specific scene it reminded me of, I don't want to lead the viewers attention in a specific way, and instead give the viewer the freedom of interpret it, so I have left the title simply as "Ludic", in honor of the vague notion that had pulled me into this picture.

Andres Gonzalez

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page