top of page

Contemplation

The more photos I take, the more I realize that the ones I enjoy the most are the ones that are a result of contemplation. At first I would do several shots of the subject that called my attention and with each shot, angle, exposure, etc. I would decide whether I was getting closer to what I wanted from the picture. This I think is necessary while I master the technical aspect of photography but the works I have enjoyed the most are the ones that stemmed from a purposeful contemplation, during which I ask myself what it is that caught my attention and why? Was it the lines? The colors? The shapes? The ying and yang? and explore those answers in thought. Even if I don't arrive at concrete answers, because sometimes what caught my attention is elusive, this helps me calibrate my intuition that would guide the shots.

Today by the pool I laid on the grass, looked up and immediately wanted to start taking photos. I took a minute first to contemplate what was it that I liked of what I was seeing and realized it was the clear blue sky and how the different shapes interacted with it:

Enjoy :)

Andres Gonzalez

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page