top of page

Second Pass

I have to remember, every now and then, to do a second pass of previous photographs I've taken before and take a look at the ones I didn't decide to pursue at that given time, because I often find little treasures.

The following picture was taken several weeks ago, and this one in particular I remember not thinking much of it. I actually have three versions of this image, with slightly different framing and/or perspective, and at that time I breezed through them without a second thought.

Tonight I went back, doing a second pass at these pictures , and I felt intrigued by them. The colors, the yellow background with some L shaped white lines going off in different directions. The black rectangle of the window frame, and the picture in the background that appears to be hanging from it. The sliver of light that illuminates the bricks, the dark grey lines in the bricks, long horizontal ones, and alternating short vertical ones. The dark shadow on the left, darkening the bricks, ending at different lengths at the top than on the bottom. Also forming a thick more diffuse L shape.

I often shy away from over explaining my images, I even deliberately try to minimize any type of explanation of the image, but in this case, I wanted to indulge in it fully, in order to leverage the reality that I actually skipped over these images before, and tonight discover such richness in it...

 Andres Gonzalez

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page