top of page

(Urban) Abstract Collection

Last week I took it upon myself to update my website, as my work through last year has changed and evolved, and I felt the website no longer represented my current work.

When you review your own past and current work, making decisions how to organize it, what to show, where, when, etc, it can be really challenging. On the one hand, I'm very proud of a lot of the different types of photography I have explored, its a challenge to decide what to keep and where. Needless to say it will be an ongoing effort, with trials and errors along the way, more so because I'm doing it on my own at this point, with little knowledge about web design, which is less than ideal, but it is what I have available to me at this point, so it is what it is. 

Throughout this exploration, I realized that one of my foci is abstract photography. While a lot of what I've done, has been in urban settings, I came to realize that I have favored more abstract compositions in general. Carrying this realization with me throughout the week, I took my customary lunch walks on the nature trail at my workplace and  I started noticing that I actually favor this approach when photographing nature as well. 

Up until know, I have felt unsure what I should focus my work around, because you hear a lot of advice of how focus really allows you to grow and get known for this or that, how focus gives you your niche, etc. I'm been doing my best not to force this process, because its quite easy to feel desperation, wanting to feel you're going somewhere, and at the same time you can appreciate others that have found their "voice" and how this voice, once defined is louder and reaches more ears. 

Intuitively, I know finding your "voice" needs to be organically developed and not arrived to from a formula or a hack, even less so from desperation. I also know the fear, of forever wandering a dark place, thinking that at some point, you'll come across light, and be able to define things more clearly. There's a fear of never being able to find the light. What I know for sure, is that among these doubts, there's Art to be made. It may not be perfect, it may not be clearly defined yet, I may eventually evolve past it, but its what I have now.

As such, I still consider myself in a exploration phase, trying things out, and it appears I've found last week a common thread: abstracts. Thus I generated a collection in my website representing that thread, or part of it anyways, as its centered in the urban setting. I will continue to pull on this thread and see how far the rabbit hole goes.

Andres Gonzalez

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page