top of page

Sketches in Photography

It's been some time since I ran out of what to say, so I'll improvise a little and try to keep it short and simple without digressing (much).

I've posted some iPhone pictures that I'm labeling as sketches and then I got to thinking why label photographs as sketches?

Although I can see to some the concept of sketch limited to those made through a plastic medium, to some it might mean sketches are limited to carbon pencils or charcoal, while to some it can also include loosely worked paintings of different kinds, but I feel the concept can have broader ramifications.

I think sketches are much more than just the medium through which they are made. Sketching is often a means of exploration. I remember in art school and many other books, documentaries, podcasts since, sketching is one of the most recommended activities for not just illustrators and painters, but for other aesthetic disciplines as well, and via different mediums. As an exploration tool, it helps the artist explore different aspects of the artistic process and product, experiment with things that might not be ready for a final presentable product.

As I take this in and analyze, why calling these sketches makes sense to me? is that in some way I think of my iPhone's camera as more rudimentary than my DSLR, as it relates to taking pictures. This understanding in a certain way frees me more of the end product, if that makes sense.

It's similar to sketching something on a napkin, or sketch book, vs a stretched canvas. In the former, the medium sort of implies its not for display, while the latter does, at least to me on some unconscious level, therefore feel more at least experimenting on it.

I therefore explore with my iPhone and that is what it gives it this sketching feeling.

Andres Gonzalez

PS : all three sketches were taken in the same bathroom.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page